Packaging Labeling - Ingredients Vegans May Not Recognize

Back to NAM Blog

Packaging Labeling - Ingredients Vegans May Not Recognize

As leaders in industrial coding and marking, we know that consumers are becoming increasingly concerned about the ingredients in the foods they eat. According to recent reports, those who are vegans may be unaware of animal ingredients in the packaged foods they purchase. Most dedicated vegans know to avoid honey, gelatin, and lactose, however there are other ingredients those who want to completely avoid animal ingredients need to recognize in order to avoid animal products or byproducts. These popular ingredients include:

  • Casein
  • Isinglass
  • Albumen
  • Confectioner's or resinous glaze
  • Red 4
  • L-Cysteine
  • Methionine
  • Lactic acid
  • Whey
  • Vitamin D
Because "natural" flavors can come from both animals and plants, and U.S. laws don't make it clear how consumers can distinguish between the two, it's important to know which ingredients are derived from animals. For instance, casein, an ingredient that many vegans believe contains no animal ingredients, is a protein found in the milk of all mammals and comes in the form of caseinates including sodium caseinate, calcium caseinate, and potassium caseinate. Another ingredient, Red 4, is a dye that originates from cochineal bugs, a dye that results when these bugs are treated, boiled, dried, or crushed. Also commonly referred to as cochineal or carmine, Red 4 may be an ingredient in juice, candy, and other products and may cause dangerous allergic reactions in some individuals. Whey is a common ingredient often present in foods that are processed, and is well-known for use among athletes or fitness buffs who use it for performance. Whey is actually derived as a byproduct of cheese production. In the process, when whey is added to whole milk following coagulation, the solids separate from the liquid (whey). This is when whey becomes protein powder, and curds or solids become cheese. Albumen is simply egg white, used in foods such as cookies, cake, and candy products. Also a common ingredient used in the production of wine, many vegans are not aware that albumen is derived from animals. Many people today want to avoid animal ingredients in an effort to maintain health and avoid the fats often found in animal products. As consumers become more demanding of transparent packaging labeling, many companies and industries are making strides toward this goal. At Markem-Imaje, we provide industrial printing equipment including ink jet and laser printers, thermal transfer, print and apply labeling, digital printing solutions, and more for a vast array of industries including foods, beverages, candy/confectionery, dairy, and more.

January 10, 2014
Markem-Imaje Announces Acquisition of CSAT

Markem-Imaje Announces Acquisition of CSAT
Back to top